It can be confusing to learn that fry light might not be Halal, but this is because it contains a small about of alcohol, and since alcohol is not halal this puts whether fry light is into question.
Fry light is mainly considered Halal since the alcohol inside of it is not used for intoxication and evaporates fully during cooking, the alcohol is simply put in the spray as a preservative only.
To help you understand more about why there's alcohol in fry light, what oils are Halal and some low cal Halal-friendly alternatives to Fry light we've made a small guide below with all you need to know.
There is alcohol in fry light as it acts as a preservative, this is made from sugar beets so is all-natural from grain and water, it' evaporates entirely when cooking so is not detectable upon consumption.
Since this oil evaporates its alcohol and there isn't enough for intoxication it is fine to have halal, but some people might prefer against it being in the mix at all.
Halal cooking means cooking without haram, you need to avoid alcohol or pork plus any by-products of these ingredients for your food to be halal, you should always work cooking utensils carefully too to avoid any transmission.
The best way to ensure a product is halal-friendly for your halal cooking is by checking if it's certified on the label, don't just trust that meat or other products are halal because someone says so. It's also a good idea to do a quick check of the ingredients.
If your looking for cooking oils that are entirely halal then should make sure you check the ingredients for any added alcohol or flavouring.
We've made a list of which cooking oils are halal below to help you out.
There are plenty of other low cal oil spray alternatives to fry light that don't contain alcohol and are halal, we've listed a few down below to help you with your shopping list next time you go to the supermarket.
What is the difference between Halal and Haram?
All things in the Islamic religion which are considered lawful are called halal while the forbidden ingredients/food/objects are called haram.
Is meat broth halal?
Only if you know the ingredients inside of the broth and if it's certified halal, unidentified meat broth is considered haram.
How do I substitute alcohol in cooking?
You can use normal grape juice for sweetness or find non-alcoholic extracts in some supermarkets.
Is olive oil halal?
Yes, olive oil is halal since it has only olive pressed natural extract with no alcohol inside, for any flavoured versions or mixes do double-check the ingredients.
Is CBD oil halal?
CBD oil is considered halal since it is all-natural ingredients and does not contain the ingredients to make you high like standard marijuana.
Overall, fry light is mostly considered halal since it contains alcohol which evaporates during cooking, meaning there will be no traces left to consume, however, if you are not comfortable with eating fry light there are plenty of other cooking oil sprays to choose from on our list above which do not contain alcohol. Always check the ingredients beforehand to be on the safe side.